Is the Kindle Paperwhite 2024 Worth It?

HasTrust rates Kindle Paperwhite (2024) Trusted (97/100), checked 2026-06-23: Strong consensus that it’s the best e-reader for most people, with an improved larger 7-inch display and better contrast; citations not needed? actually required; included below.

Wondering if the Kindle Paperwhite 2024 is worth it? HasTrust gives it a trust score of 85/100 (Trusted), based on consistent praise across major tech outlets for its sharper 7-inch display, faster performance, strong battery life, and waterproofing. The main caveats are minor UI annoyances (like the power button placement) and occasional quality-control complaints about uneven lighting, so it's a solid pick for first-time buyers or upgraders from an older Kindle.

amazon.com
97
Trusted🛒 ShopBuy
🔗https://amazon.com

What we measured

✓On the public web since 1998 (Internet Archive)
✓Valid HTTPS encryption (certificate by DigiCert Inc)
Why this score?
Base reputation85
Among the most-visited sites (rank #30)+12
Trust score97

The Kindle Paperwhite (2024) is consistently praised across major tech outlets as the best all-around e-reader: sharper/higher-contrast 7-inch display, improved speed, strong battery life, waterproofing, and generally excellent reading experience. The main recurring downsides are small UI annoyances (notably the power button location) and occasional quality-control complaints like uneven/“yellow banding” lighting. Overall, it’s good value if you’re upgrading from an older Kindle or buying your first Kindle; consider the ad-free/Signature variant only if you want the extra features (wireless charging and auto brightness).

See a trust score on every shop — automatically
The free extension shows this check on every store you visit, warns you before you pay on a risky one, and suggests safer or cheaper alternatives.
Get the free extension →
Kindle Paperwhite (2024) product imageKindle Paperwhite (2024) product imageKindle Paperwhite (2024) product imageKindle Paperwhite (2024) product image

Video reviews

Pros

  • Strong consensus that it’s the best e-reader for most people, with an improved larger 7-inch display and better contrast
  • citations not needed? actually required; included below

Cons

  • Main UI annoyance: power button placement on the bottom edge can cause accidental presses
  • Quality-control complaints in some reviews/ratings about uneven lighting (including yellow banding)
  • Some Signature Edition extras (wireless charging) may be less convenient unless magnets/alignment are just right
  • Costs more than the predecessor (small-but-real price bump)

⚠ Red flags

  • Signals of occasional display unevenness/yellow banding on some units (reported in review content and associated with Amazon listing reviews)
  • Power button location causing accidental presses (called out in multiple reviews)

Better options

💡 Smarter pick
Kobo Clara BW (smaller, often cheaper)Not stated in sources

Why switch: If you want a lower-cost Kobo option, Digital Trends’ comparison notes the Kobo Clara BW uses a similar E Ink screen generation but in a smaller 6-inch form factor; tradeoff is smaller size and contrast differences vs Paperwhite.

U2
Used/refurbished 2021 Kindle PaperwhiteNot stated in sources

Ars Technica suggests that because the 2024 upgrade is incremental for owners of newer models, a used/refurb 2021 Paperwhite could be the best entry-level value if you can find one in good condition.

WF
Wait for a sale (Black Friday / Prime Day)Not stated in sources

WIRED and others note Amazon regularly discounts its own devices during major sale events; waiting can improve value for money.

What web sources say (not checked by us)

+Multiple independent, mainstream review sources found (evidence of established product evaluation)
−Common, specific hardware complaints present in reviews (uneven light/yellow banding; power button location)
?No seller/website legitimacy details provided in the sources (can’t verify domain age, contact info, returns, or payment security from these results)

Facts

Connection Valid HTTPS certificate
Certificate valid until 2026-11-18 (148 days) · DigiCert Inc
From web sources
Price (basic model, varies by ads): Starts at about $159.99/£159.99, with a higher price for an ad-free lock screen; Signature Edition is around $199.99/£189.99 (plus more storage/wireless charging/auto brightness).
Display size: 7-inch e-ink screen in the 2024 Paperwhite lineup (12th-gen).
Water resistance: Waterproof with IPX8 rating (details like depth/time vary by water type; generally designed for bath/pool/beach use).
Charging / ports (Signature vs base): Both models use USB-C; the Signature Edition adds Qi wireless charging.
Storage (Signature vs base): 16GB base; Signature Edition doubles to 32GB.
HasTrust summarizes public web sources and can be wrong or out of date. Not a guarantee of safety or quality — always verify before you buy or pay.

💬 Ask about this shop

Answers come from what we checked about this site — the AI only picks the topic, it writes nothing.

🛡️ Site safety check

–Domain age unknown
✓Valid HTTPS encryption (certificate by DigiCert Inc)
✓On the public web since 1998 (Internet Archive)
✓Among the ~1M most-visited sites on the web (Majestic Million #30)

What you should do

  • Still pay with a method that has buyer protection (credit card or PayPal), never a bank transfer.
  • Check the returns policy and delivery time before ordering.
  • We keep tracking this site — check back here if anything feels off later.

🔍 What we checked ourselves

Each row is a check HasTrust ran, and the day it ran.

CheckWhat we foundHowWhen
HTTPS certificateValid — DigiCert Inc, expires 2026-11-18TLS handshake from our serversbefore 2026-06-23
First seen on the web1998Internet Archivebefore 2026-06-23
Popularity rank#30 on Majestic MillionMajestic Million listbefore 2026-06-23
BlocklistNot listedHasTrust blocklist
Trust score history2 recorded points since 2026-06-23, 85 → 85HasTrust score model
Trust score history2 changes · 94d
Low 85High 85Now 85
Compare Kindle Paperwhite (2024) with 3 alternatives →
Do you trust this site?

Buyer reports

No buyer reports yet — bought from here? Be the first to share.

Comments are screened before they appear. The count updates immediately.

Something wrong on this page? Tell us

Own this site, or spotted an error? A person reviews every report and corrects the page when a fact is wrong.

We use your email only to reply about this report.

▶ Watch video reviews

Checked 99 days ago. · How we score →

Frequently asked

Is Kindle Paperwhite (2024) legit?⌄

Trusted. HasTrust trust score: 97/100. The Kindle Paperwhite (2024) is consistently praised across major tech outlets as the best all-around e-reader: sharper/higher-contrast 7-inch display, improved speed, strong battery life, waterproofing, and generally excellent reading experience. The main recurring downsides are small UI annoyances (notably the power button location) and occasional quality-control complaints like uneven/“yellow banding” lighting. Overall, it’s good value if you’re upgrading from an older Kindle or buying your first Kindle; consider the ad-free/Signature variant only if you want the extra features (wireless charging and auto brightness).

Is Kindle Paperwhite (2024) a scam?⌄

Possible concerns from our check: Signals of occasional display unevenness/yellow banding on some units (reported in review content and associated with Amazon listing reviews); Power button location causing accidental presses (called out in multiple reviews)

What is the Kindle Paperwhite (2024) trust score?⌄

HasTrust rates Kindle Paperwhite (2024) 97/100 (Trusted). Buy

🔔 Email me if this shop's trust rating changes

Free. You confirm by email (double opt-in); unsubscribe any time.

📖 Helpful guides

People also checked

Own amazon.com? Add your HasTrust badge

Show your live HasTrust score on your own site — it links back here so visitors can see the full check. How it works ↗

HasTrust trust score
Image — works anywhere
Script — tells you which pages it runs on

Same badge, added by a small script. Use this one if you want your HasTrust dashboard to show which of your pages the badge is actually seen on. It never reads your customers' data — only the page path, without the query string.

📬 Get new scams in your inbox — weekly

One short email every Monday: the scam shops and risky sites we spotted that week. No spam, one-click unsubscribe.

Double opt-in — we only mail you after you confirm.